top of page

Julia Park: Corona Chronicle 1

At the beginning of September 2019, I made a promise to myself. I wanted to try the best I could to spend my last year in high school living in the present. Since watching the last three years of my life go by so quickly, I didn’t want to spend any more of my time worrying about the future or dwelling over the past.


As all seniors know, senior year is a weird dichotomy between preparing to move on to adulthood and languishing in what is left of our youth. To me, living in the present was finding the small space in between these two feelings.


Perhaps the downside of not looking far enough into the future was that I didn’t see any of this coming. As one week of spring break turned into two weeks then four, my senior year began to look completely different from the absence of prom, Senior Follies, Senior Trip, and graduation among other events.


Despite these circumstances, my promise to myself still stands as this is not the end yet. In place of dancing at prom or practicing for Senior Follies, living in the present now means video chatting with my friends or trying new recipes with my family. This new meaning is as important and special to me as the former would have been.


Alas, as my time as a high schooler comes to an end, I find closure within making the most of what is left instead of grieving over the things that didn’t happen.



13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Season that never got started

By Ashley Casilli When Athens High School closed its doors for the very last time until the fall school year, they took the spring sports season with them. Seniors never got to play their final season

The rise of tele-everything

By Cara Sheets Jared Sheets, a primary care physician, wakes up and heads to work. But most days in this quarantine, work is to wherever the wifi is good enough for a video conference. Sheets is spea

A Portrait of Quarantine: Ami Brannan

By Cara Sheets Athens High School senior Ami Brannan has been sheltering in place since March 12, nearly a week before the official stay at home order would go into effect. With two months of quaranti

bottom of page