top of page

A Portrait of Quarantine: Ami Brannan

By Cara Sheets


Athens High School senior Ami Brannan has been sheltering in place since March 12, nearly a week before the official stay at home order would go into effect. With two months of quarantine under her belt, Brannan reflects on her new hobbies, emotions, and hopes for the future.

School not yet over, Brannan focuses much of her time on homework. Though when she isn’t studying for an upcoming AP online exam or completing an assignment, Brannan likes to stay active and cook.

“Cooking and baking have become fun for me because you can put more time into it,” she said. “I feel like before quarantine every meal was so rushed.”

Indeed, life’s pace has slowed for the usually fast-paced Brannan. When asked about her feelings in quarantine, she remarked, “It’s very lonely at first and it’s just so new because you don’t really know what to do with yourself.”

Being a graduating senior, Brannan acknowledges her sadness towards missing out on fun senior traditions like prom, Senior Follies, and graduation. Though what frustrates her the most, isn’t what she’s missed out on.

“When I see people on social media not following the rules and the social distancing policies and just hanging out with their friends, it’s really frustrating,” she said. “The CDC made it clear that the best way to help contain the virus is by staying home and keeping your distance.”

Brannan’s frustration is warranted, as many people are ignoring Ohio Governor Mike Dewine’s orders to stay at home and social distance.

“I want to, everyone wants to return to some sort of normal at some point, but if people aren’t following the rules, then we can’t do that,” said Brannan.

Social media is Brannan’s double-edged sword. It helps her stay connected to others, but is also draining on her mental health.

“I think being on social media was a big part of my frustration because that’s how I was seeing all of these people, not the following everything,” she said.

To take care of her mental health, Brannan took a cleanse from social media. “It just got me to focus on my school and myself and my family, and not think so much about what everyone else is doing.”

Brannan is optimistic as she looks to the future. When asked what she is most looking forward to, she said, “Hopefully we’re going to college on campus. Also seeing my friends again, I feel like that’s the main thing--seeing my friends.”

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Season that never got started

By Ashley Casilli When Athens High School closed its doors for the very last time until the fall school year, they took the spring sports season with them. Seniors never got to play their final season

The rise of tele-everything

By Cara Sheets Jared Sheets, a primary care physician, wakes up and heads to work. But most days in this quarantine, work is to wherever the wifi is good enough for a video conference. Sheets is spea

Julia Park: Corona Chronicle 1

At the beginning of September 2019, I made a promise to myself. I wanted to try the best I could to spend my last year in high school living in the present. Since watching the last three years of my l

bottom of page