top of page

Corona Time

By Calder Kraince


When the first news of the coronavirus outbreak in China I felt mostly indifferent, I didn't take it very seriously. I never expected it to make it far out of China and much less to Ohio. There have been several other epidemics in my short lifetime. I remember not affecting how I lived so I assumed Corona would be no different. The media would make a big deal but nothing would really happen to my life. But, several weeks later, the school was closed and before we knew it, Corona reached Athens County.


Staying inside my home for most of each day definitely has its pros and cons. Some things I like about staying home are that I can stay up late without worry because I don't have to wake up for school in the morning. I also greatly enjoy being able to stay home and play videogames, whether it's Smash Bros with my little brother or playing League of Legends. I like it all. The only other pro I can think of is that I had Friday night schools the two weekends after spring break and now since I may never return to the high school they will never take place.


The main con for me is not being able to see my friends as often as I would like to. Before this, I would hang out with my friends every day so it's quite a switch up to only be able to see them once a week or so and just for a hike when I do. Also, many of the people that I saw at school I may never see again since we don’t have school till the end of the year and were seniors and never got to say goodbye to them. Although quarantine is better than spreading the virus, I would probably choose my life pre corona rather than my life after.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Season that never got started

By Ashley Casilli When Athens High School closed its doors for the very last time until the fall school year, they took the spring sports season with them. Seniors never got to play their final season

The rise of tele-everything

By Cara Sheets Jared Sheets, a primary care physician, wakes up and heads to work. But most days in this quarantine, work is to wherever the wifi is good enough for a video conference. Sheets is spea

Julia Park: Corona Chronicle 1

At the beginning of September 2019, I made a promise to myself. I wanted to try the best I could to spend my last year in high school living in the present. Since watching the last three years of my l

bottom of page