top of page

How CC+ courses prepared me for my academic future

by Clay Boeninger


After feeling entirely unproductive for the virtual portion of the 2019-2020 school year, I decided that I would try enrolling in one college-level course under the College Credit Plus program. What I discovered was an enticing pathway to learning; one that would allow me to strengthen my study habits, interact with exceptionally intelligent people, and earn college credit while still being a high schooler.


The CC+ program, which is funded by the state government, allows students grades 7-12 to enroll in college-level courses for free. The intent of the program is to provide more students, particularly lower-income students, with a way to make college more affordable in the future.

If students begin taking CC+ courses in their freshman year of high school, it is entirely possible to attain an associate's degree by their high school graduation.


CC+ courses also allow students to connect with renowned professors and other high achieving students. In my experience, learning from these students and professors enhanced my learning exponentially.


Enrolling in CC+ courses led me to consider certain factors, such as class sizes and student to faculty ratios, for when I make my senior-year decision about which college I plan to attend after high school. Without the CC+ program, I may not have learned that I strongly prefer professor-taught classes to teaching-assistant taught classes.


However, there are challenges that could potentially arise when taking CC+ courses. For instance, the workload is significantly higher as compared to many high school classes, and it could be difficult for some students to stay up to date in their classes.


That is why I recommend starting off small; maybe you take just one course over the summer to dip your feet into the world of CC+. Then, after you have experienced the CC+ program for the first time, you may take two or three CC+ courses in the next semester. Nonetheless, CC+ courses teach valuable lessons about time management and what prospective college students can expect their classes to demand of them.


On a related note, I also discovered that I needed to study much more in my CC+ courses than I ever needed to in my high school courses. In my high school courses, I was able to wait to study until a few days before a big test. Meanwhile, in college, I had to consistently study so that I would be prepared for each class’s exams.


Finally, because most of my classes were only meeting for a total of about three hours per week, I had to be much more proactive about my learning. While my instructors always provided me with the information necessary to succeed, it was my duty to attend their office hours and to ask them questions about confusing material.


The College Credit Plus program was invaluable for me because I was able to become a better student while also learning about the college experience and what to expect when I officially go off to college.


CC+ is not without its challenges, but those struggles can significantly improve students’ study habits and prepare them for their next educational journeys.


2 views0 comments
bottom of page