top of page

Hannah's senior page

Updated: Nov 3, 2021

by Hannah Bernstein


As the editor of Matrix, I want to use this space to thank everyone for putting so much effort into Matrix this year. We published six issues despite the challenges of being virtual! Also, a personal thank you to Mrs. Wryst for putting up with me for four years.


During a normal school year, when Matrix is printed, seniors are featured on an entire page where they share high school memories and advice. Because Matrix is virtual this year, I made my page digitally. I included the text below as I recognize it is hard to read.

TEXT: Despite being stuck at home for the past school year and a bit, I enjoyed most of my high school career. Yeah, I could have gone without the acne breakouts and the failed friendships, but the more you learn. Without growing up in Athens, I would never have become the person I am today. Although I am not 100% sure where I will end up, I am planning to pursue public policy or environmental engineering with a focus on food insecurity. For those who are not aware, Athens County has one of the highest rates of food insecurity in the state according to Feeding America. One in five kids does not have reliable access to a sufficient quantity of affordable, nutritious food. It is extremely saddening especially when you realize that we live in a food-producing area as well. I hope to learn more about our food system and food policy so we can solve this systematic issue.


Now, on a less serious note, I want to pass down some life lessons as a seasoned high school senior.

  • Coffee is not a personality. If you are drinking it as much as you are talking about it, then (sweetie) that's an addiction.

  • Just because you know everyone in your grade does not mean everyone in your grade knows you or will like you. That's okay though because as Ms. RuPaul says “If you don't love yourself, how in the heck are you gonna love somebody else?”

  • Dances themselves will never be fun. Getting into the Grind Circle or "The Box" only leaves you sweaty. Finding people you like to go with and chilling in your group is the only way you will have fun.

  • Being a student leader may lead you to attempt to pull out your hair.

Recommendation: just cut it instead.





9 views0 comments
bottom of page